The Motherload!

Posted on

I am learning how to do machine embroidery. It is much more complicated that I originally thought. Different stabilizers for different fabrics and effects. Different types of threads and needles. The first embroidery thread I bought was a package of Embroidex thread from my favorite online mall. It was fairly inexpensive polyester thread but good for me to learn with.

Recently a friend and I were making some purchases in our local Joanne’s fabric store. As we checked out there was a large tub of thread near the register. A small sign said 97 cents per spool. I peeked in and caught my breath when I saw that it was Sulky Rayon thread in 250 yard spools. For those who don’t know, the same thread usually sells for about $5.00 a spool here in Florida. 97 cents! A steal! I quickly gathered up several spools and as the cashier started to ring them up, she exclaimed, “Oh these are only 50 cents each now.”

My friend and I bought the entire tub! Although I could use a few more bright colors, it looks like I am set for embroidery and topstitching for a while! Here a picture of my new thread:

Motherload

 

 

Leave a Reply

