The Hyacinth

Posted on

Hyacinth

Things have not always been easy for Mr. M and I. When we were raising our three children, often money was very tight. During an especially hard time my mother gave me a piece of advice. She said that I should always find enough money for a white hyacinth. What she meant was I should always try to find a little pleasure for myself. Something that would help ease my burdens. 

It was good advice and even now, I try to find a little special joy in each day. In addition, every year when they show up in the stores, I buy a hyacinth in honor of my Mom. She passed away years ago and I still miss her. But the pleasure I find in a hyacinth reminds me of that great piece of advice she gave to me.

It is too bad that the growing environment here in Florida isn’t good for hyacinths to flourish. When the blooms are spent,  I will still put these bulbs in my garden and hope for the best; but I know because our winters are too warm they will eventually stop blooming. I don’t mind. I will always buy a new one each year for Mom.

2 thoughts on “The Hyacinth

    Linda Bye said:
    March 31, 2016 at 5:43 pm

    Great idea Toni..I just lost my mom on Feb 28th. It is still hard, to not pick up phone in the evening to call her. Thx

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      April 2, 2016 at 6:28 am

      So sorry to hear, Linda. I can only say for you to cherish your memories. I still miss my Mom.

      Like

Leave a Reply

