Happy Vernal Equinox!

Posted on

I want to check in today to wish everyone a happy Vernal Equinox, the first day of Spring here in the Northern Hemisphere. This is one of my favorite days of the year. To me it feels sort of like New Year’s Day because it marks the beginning of the time when the days become longer that the nights.

Since my blog serves as sort of a personal journal, I wanted to record what is happening in our brand new gardens on this first day of Spring, so here are a few photos I snapped this morning.

hibiscus

Our hibiscus are blooming.

tomatoes

We have some beans coming up between our young tomato plants.

Chile-garden

The turtles are keeping an eye on the little hot pepper plants. These are planted in in “L” shaped garden with the tomatoes (you can see a couple of them to the left of the frame). I call this my salsa garden.

sweet-peppersThis frog seems to be noticing that there are some more bean seedlings here in the sweet pepper garden. Have you noticed the reddish stuff on the soil? What is that you ask? Well it is sort of an experiment. We have a LOT of very, VERY hot salsa de arbol. It is so hot that we joke about just waving the jar over our tacos instead of actually adding some. So we are using some of it as a deterrent for the raccoons and other marauders.  This is also freeing up a few of my canning jars for reuse.

I realize that some of my friends and family are having some inclement weather so please don’t take my Florida garden photos as rubbing salt in your wounds. Just take it as a glimpse of what is to come for your area. AND if you can’t wait, come on down here for a visit!

Happy first day of Spring everyone!

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Vernal Equinox!

    Cristina martinez Foster said:
    March 20, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    Happy Equinox! Beautiful pictures 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      March 20, 2016 at 4:33 pm

      Thanks, Dear! And thanks for reading! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

