A Secret Path

Posted on

I have been away from posting for a while. Right around Christmas I was so sick with a severe case of bronchitis that I wound up in urgent care. I must have coughed for six weeks!

Right after that, we decided to buy a new home in our community. I really loved our first home here but it did have one really big drawback. If you have read my blog for long you are probably aware that I cook… a lot. And I can as a hobby. The kitchen in our home was very small; not even large enough to accommodate a dishwasher.

Well that issue has been resolved. We have just moved into a lovely new (to us) home with a really big kitchen. Not only does it have a dishwasher (a real one, not just Mr. M) it has 2 sinks; one near the kitchen window and a prep sink and board in an island.

I REALLY hate moving! All that sorting, packing and unpacking! What I DO like about moving is discovering the quirky little things that are part of the new home. This leads me to my title (finally!). We are lucky enough to have an enclosed patio room the overlooks the lake behind our home, with a door that leads to an open patio facing the lake. The strange thing is that there is no door leading from the driveway into the patio room. One of our first observations was that we should put in a walkway around the room to the back patio.

One day, I decided to forgo unpacking for a couple of hours so I could plant some daylilies, that I moved from our former home, next to the back patio. While digging out the bed I discovered some 18 inch square stepping stones that were completely overgrown with grass and weeds. I cleared them off and discovered two more.

discovery

I showed them to Mr. M and he started clearing off more and more stepping stones, all completely covered over with sand, soil and grass.

Eventually here was our secret pathway all of the way from the driveway to the back patio:

Walkway1

Powerwashing
No, that white stuff on the ground is not Florida snow, it is paint from painting our downspouts there.

We plan to power-wash the stones and raise them up to the ground level.

It looks to me that someone else thought a pathway along the side of our patio room is a good idea. I am looking forward to discovering any other little quirks in our new (to us) home. Stay tuned!

 

One thought on “A Secret Path

    Night Moves « Itsjusttoni's Blog said:
    April 1, 2016 at 6:34 pm

    […] A Secret Path […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

