What’s Up With This?

Posted on Updated on

If you have been following my blog, you know that my forty plus year old sewing machine finally died and I got a brand new Brother SE 400. Fancy schmancy, it sews and embroiders too! I was hesitant to try out the embroidery aspect until I decided to make some Christmas gifts. first-embroidery

It is unbelievably easy to embroider with it, so I was happily working along UNTIL… I ran out of bobbin thread. Now mind you, an embroidery machine doesn’t use just any bobbin thread; it uses Embroidery Machine Bobbin Thread only for embroidery. No problem! When I received my new machine it came with:

a pre-wound bobbin full of Special Brother Embroidery Bobbin Thread.

3 empty embroidery thread bobbins and clips to hold the thread after winding

a very large spool of Special Brother Embroidery Bobbin Thread:

thread

Since I needed more bobbin thread I decided to fill one of the Special Brother Embroidery Bobbins with the Special Brother Embroidery Bobbin Thread. Then my troubles began! When the Special Brother Embroidery Bobbin was filled, I tried to remove it from the Bobbinator  (*see this graphic).

sewing-machine-parts

BUT the bobbin seemed stuck.When I gave it a little encouragement, it literally exploded and cut my finger:

 

boobooo

Pieces flew all over the room and the thread sprang up in a tangle (including the part with my blood!) . Hmmmm, I thought “Strange.”.

So I tried with a regular Brother Bobbin and the magic Brother Embroidery Bobbin Thread. Near the end of the winding process, the top of the plastic bobbin flew off and the thread “blew up”off of the bobbin. “Even more strange. ” I thought.

Maybe a regular purchased sewing machine bobbin is sturdier and would work. Well, just as the bobbin stopped filling, suddenly it seemed to “pop up” and get a little taller. This bobbin had literally split in the center of the spool.

 

broken-bobbinsJust look at how cleanly they have broken.

Here is the sad waste of thread:tangle

Just to see if the problem is the bobbinator (bobbin winder), I tried winding a bobbin with regular dual duty thread and had no problems at all!

So I think it is the Special Brother Embroidery Bobbin Thread that is the problem. I called Brother and they told me no one had ever reported such a problem.

So now that I am officially afraid of the Special Brother Bobbin Embroidery Thread, I am planning to buy pre-wound bobbins of it and let someone else take the risk. But that will not be until after Christmas. (Sorry Gift Recipient, you have to have an IOU).

Has anyone out there had this problem?

 

9 thoughts on “What’s Up With This?

    Mani @ Chocolate Chips and Toffee Bits said:
    December 23, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Oh my word!! I’m so sorry about your finger. But your diagram made me laugh!

    Liked by 1 person

    itsjusttoni responded:
    December 23, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    Thanks! And thanks for reading! 🙂

    Like

    Mary said:
    December 29, 2015 at 8:19 am

    Oh my to funny 🙂
    I just got the same machine for Christmas and scared to try it yet.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      December 30, 2015 at 7:21 am

      It took me quite a while too! Watch out! It may be addicting: pretty soon everything I own will be embroidered, all I need are those pre-wound bobbins!Thanks for reading!

      Like

    kenzelsfire said:
    January 4, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    Oh wow, that looks like it was painful!?
    I don’t have that specific machine but I’ve taken the classes on using the machine I have and winding the bobbin has to be done in a specific way or it can turn into a mess.

    I’m sorry that happened, but don’t give up. I started embroidering 3-4 yrs ago and still use the machine to make gift items.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      January 6, 2016 at 11:36 am

      Thanks for reading and your kind comments. I am determined to slough on! I have prewound bobbins and have finished some towels. It is fun!!

      Like

    kenzelsfire said:
    January 6, 2016 at 11:40 am

    As long as you take the time and get to know what your machine can do, you will never be bored. What’s the maximum size embroidery frame your machine is designed to handle?

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      January 6, 2016 at 1:27 pm

      It has a 4 X 4′ hoop but with embroidery software it will use a bigger repositionable hoop, like a 4 X 7″.

      Liked by 1 person

        kenzelsfire said:
        January 6, 2016 at 1:30 pm

        That’s good! I used my 4×4 so much yr 1 that I was pining for more options 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

