Browned Butter Frosting

Posted on Updated on

Browned Butter Frosting
Browned Butter Frosting

Every now and then I actually bake a cake for Mr. M and I. My latest cake was to use up some really ripe bananas. After I made the cake I remembered my seventh grade home economics class. That was waaayyy back when only girls could enroll in home economics, and boys had to take “shop”. Never could one take the other. Anyway that was then and I did learn a few recipes from that class. One was treacle cake, or gingerbread with lemon sauce, and another was browned butter frosting, a mouthwatering, caramel flavored delight. This frosting tastes like caramel and like it was so difficult to make!

Actually it is one of the easiest ever! Just combine one part unsalted butter, one part brown sugar and one half part white sugar in a sauce pan,

sugar-and-butter

Stir and heat until the butter melts :

melt

Stir and bring just to a boil, and remove from heat. Add a bit of vanilla extract, or like I did, a bit of Curacao, for an orangish flavor.

Add powdered sugar (confectioner’s sugar) until the frosting is the thickness you like:

ready
Browned butter frosting ready to spread

This frosting will thicken and harden similar to an icing when it cools. If you add less confectioner’s sugar it can be used as a glaze, add more and it will thicken and you have fudge! Just a word to the wise is that once you have added the confectioner’s sugar be ready to apply it to the cake because it will harden very quickly and become impossible to spread.

See, I told you that it is easy. I don’t even really measure. It turns out every time! Since I was in seventh grade. Like, umm, maybe a hundred years ago! Try it and eat it!

2 thoughts on “Browned Butter Frosting

    Mani @ Chocolate Chips and Toffee Bits said:
    October 23, 2015 at 11:28 am

    I LOVE browned butter frosting! I had it once on some banana cake, oh it was tasty…

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      October 23, 2015 at 6:54 pm

      Thanks for reading! You are so right! So tasty and so easy!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

