My Pineapple Vinegar Update

Posted on Updated on

Final Fermentation stage of pineapple vinegar
Final Fermentation stage of pineapple vinegar

As I posted before I am in the process of making vinegar from the skin of a pineapple that we lovingly grew. The photo above is the final fermentation stage after the first straining to remove the pieces of fruit.The whitish stuff floating on the top is a form of yeast and is harmless and helpful.

I have a photo below of my final product. Because I don’t really want to continue straining my vinegar to get a perfectly clear product, I am happy with this amount of clarity. You can see that the bottle has a stopper and a bail. When I first bottled the vinegar I made sure to “burp” the stopper a couple of times to be sure the was no more fermentation. Now I will store the vinegar in a cool closet when I am not using it.

Pineapple vinegar bottled up and ready to use.
Pineapple vinegar bottled up and ready to use.

If you ever have a peel from a  fresh organic pineapple try making your own vinegar! It is easy and delicious! Eat it!

2 thoughts on “My Pineapple Vinegar Update

    The Breakfast Tea said:
    September 30, 2015 at 12:49 pm

    I admire your patience! Not sure I could wait through the fermentation process. I’m sure it will add amazing flavor to whatever you use it for 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      itsjusttoni responded:
      October 1, 2015 at 11:45 am

      Thanks! I tend to just set my extractions and ferments aside and forget them. Some of my extracts have been brewing for months (read vanilla). Some of them I decant then refill. They are soooo easy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

