Quick Bolos

Posted on Updated on

Tasty-bolo

Since I love to make more than one thing when I “make a mess in the kitchen”, the other day when I made pizza, I also made some sweeter dough for quick Portuguese Bolos, a kind of tasty roll that can be used to make a quick sandwich for lunch.The recipe uses the same ingredients as my pizza dough but in different proportions. The procedure is basically the same as the pizza process except I cut the dough into squares (sort of):

Cut the dough into rough squares and let rise until doubled
Cut the dough into rough squares and let rise until doubled

These can be baked in the oven but I like to bake them on my electric griddle:

Bolos

Bake on the electric griddle, turning once.

Here’s my recipe

Homemade Portuguese Bolo Dough to use now or later

6 Cups of flour: I use 3 cups of unbleached flour, 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour, and 1.5 cups of whole white wheat flour

1 Tablespoon instant yeast

1 teaspoon salt

2 Cups of warm water

4 Tablespoons honey

2 Tablespoon olive oil

1 large egg

My procedure is easy. Put the flour, salt and yeast in the mixer. put the oil in a measuring cup. Add the honey to the center of the oil. Add the egg. Add 2 cups of warm water. Start the mixer with the paddle attachment. Slowly add the liquids to avoid splashing. When the dough starts to make a ball switch to the dough hook. Allow the mixer to do its dough hook thing for about 10 minutes. Take a large container with a lid and oil it and the inside of the lid well. Scrape the kneaded dough into the container. Flip the dough over once to put the oiled side up. Cover and let rise until the dough has doubled. about 1 1/2 to 3 hours depending on how warm your house is. Punch the dough down.

At this time you can divide the dough up into usable portions, It will make about 3 dozen bolos depending on how big and or thick you prefer them. I usually make a dozen or so and I freeze or refrigerate the rest of the dough in separate portions in plastic bags. To use it, I just defrost it, shape it, top it, bake it and eat it up!!

Leave a Reply

