We Were Supposed To Have A Hurricane Today

Posted on Updated on

Thank you Hispaniola for saving us! Erika died down before she ever got to Florida. This is the first time since moving here we have put our storm shutters down and they are already back up. They make our little home feel like a cave when they are down. Perfect for a person who has felt like a bear for a few weeks lately. Happily, now my hand is so much better! The shutters are up and I am going to celebrate!

Tonight is homemade pizza night! I started my dough earlier today and soon I will be able to shape, top and bake it for dinner. I was so ambitious when I made the dough. I made a sweet yeast dough also. It is so easy with my KitchenAid mixer! She is another one of my over 40 year old appliances (remember my previous sewing machine?). Shhhh! Don’t tell my mixer how old she is so she will just keep on mixing.

Anyway, here is my recipe for tonight’s pizza dough:

Homemade Pizza Dough to use now or later

5 Cups of flour: I use 3 cups of unbleached flour, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and 1 cup of whole white wheat flour

1 Tablespoon  instant yeast

1 teaspoon salt

2 Cups of warm water

2 Tablespoons honey

2 Tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon granulated garlic

1 teaspoon dry onion powder

1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

Feel free to omit the last four ingredients if you want a plain dough. I started adding them to the dough when my kids were little and discovered that there were no more leftover crust bits. My grandkids think that Grandma makes the greatest pizza too. This dough makes great “herb’ rolls too.

My procedure is easy. Put the flour, salt and yeast in the mixer. put the oil in a measuring cup. Add the honey to the center of the oil. Add 2 cups of warm water. Start the mixer with the paddle attachment. Slowly add the liquids to avoid splashing. When the dough starts to make a ball add the herbs and switch to the dough hook. Allow the mixer to do its dough hook thing for about 10 minutes. Take a large container with a lid and oil it and the inside of the lid well. Scrape the kneaded dough into the container. Flip the dough over once to put the oiled side up. Cover and let rise until the dough has doubled. about 1 1/2 to 3 hours depending on how warm your house is. Punch the dough down.

At this time you can divide the dough up into usable portions, It will make 2 to 4 pizza crusts depending on how big and or thick you prefer them. I have made 2 jelly-roll sized crusts from mine. Now I make smaller ones to fit my pizza stone and I freeze or refrigerate the rest of the dough in separate portions in plastic bags. To use it, I just defrost it, shape it, top it, bake it and eat it up!!

Just a note: To bake my pizza,  shape it and pre-bake it for about 10 minutes, then I put on the sauce, cheese, and toppings and bake it for another 10 minutes or so. I bake my pizzas at 425° F, and I pre-heat the pizza stone.

Here is the pizza dough when it has fully risen and is ready to be shaped:

When the dough has doubled it looks like this
When the dough has doubled it looks like this

You know it is ready when you stick a finger into it and it leaves a hole and deflates slightly:

Dough-is-ready finger-hole

Rolled out and ready to bake:

Pre-bake-the-crust
Into the oven to pre-bake the crust
sauce
Put a little sauce on it
Ready to bake
Ready to bake
Pizza dinner for two
Pizza dinner for two

I hope you will try making your own pizza and eat it! The great thing about this is that you can freeze the dough to make a pizza whenever you want. Please let me know if you try it.

2 thoughts on “We Were Supposed To Have A Hurricane Today

    The Breakfast Tea said:
    August 31, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    I never thought to freeze the pizza dough–great idea! I assume you shape it into a crust first? And so glad to hear your hand is better and the hurricane missed you 🙂 lots to celebrate!

    Liked by 1 person

      itsjusttoni responded:
      September 1, 2015 at 4:55 am

      Thanks for your comment and reading! No, I don’t shape the crust before freezing, although that is fine to do. I just plop a blob of dough in a resealable gallon sized freezer bag and stick it in the freezer. It seems to take less space that way. I defrost it and shape it when I need it. I use a gallon sized bag because sometimes the yeast will cause the dough to expand slightly as it is freezing.Thanks for the good thoughts about my hand! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

