RazzleBerry Pie Filling

Posted on Updated on

As I posted here, when Mr. M and I visit our local produce market, I always look at the markdown produce. It seems like there is always some useful little treasure to be found. Last time, I found some local peaches that were a little past their prime. I snatched them up. Although they were not enough for canning pie filling, maybe not even for a pie. Anyway, I already have canned peach pie filling.

What to do with the peaches? I had some frozen mixed berries languishing in my freezer, and some fresh blueberries. Put them all together and what have I? The makings for  RazzleBerry pie filling. First I peeled, seeded, and diced the peaches. Then I added the fresh blueberries, and defrosted mixed berries. I buy the big bag of frozen berries at Costco, a mix of black berries, raspberries and blueberries. Actually, any type of berry will do. I mixed them together and measured the results. I had eight cups of fruit in all. I kept the juice from the defrosted fruit and set all of it aside.

Razz-1

I combined the sugar, Clear Jel, and water in my little stock pot.

razz3

 

I’m sure that you will notice the definite pinkish hue to my mixture, not to mention the seeds. Seems that I used the pot to measure the fruit and didn’t see any reason to rinse it out.

I brought the combination to a boil while constantly stirring it. Cook it until it is thick and clear. Like this:

razz4

When the lemon juice is added the color changed a bit and became brighter. Add the fruit, extracts, and spices. Stir to combine and put into clean jars, clean the rims and cap with 2 piece lids.

razz-in-jar
Ready to can

After 15 minutes in the water bath canner here is the result

 

razz2
RazzleBerry pie filling ready to store
Yum

Here’s the recipe:

RazzleBerry Pie Filling
8 cups of  mixed berries and prepared peaches
3 cups of sugar
1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons of clear jel  for cooking
3 cups of water
1/2 cup of lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg (optional)
1 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Rinse fresh berries or defrost frozen berries enough to break them up, add the prepared peaches and set aside. Combine sugar and clear jel  in a large pot. Stir. Add water. Stir mixture and cook over medium high heat until mixture thickens and begins to bubble. Add lemon juice and boil 1 minute, stirring constantly. Fold in berry mixture and process immediately for 15 minutes in a boiling water bath canner. This made 8 pints  for me but your mileage may vary. You can double this recipe and process it as quarts for 30 minutes. The times are for sea level. If you need more information about canning check here.

I adapted this recipe from similar recipes here, here, and here.

Why do I process pie filling in pints, you ask? Because there are only 2 of us. I use “pie filling” for lots of things, except pies. Cookie filling, tarts, or my favorite, to eat with non fat, plain Greek-style yogurt. Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

