Would You Eat A Huarache?

Posted on Updated on

Huarache, literally translated, means sandal or shoe. But I am talking about a Mexican treat that is sort of a stuffed tortilla. When we were living in Mexico, we would enjoy huaraches when we visited the “swami“.  They are handmade cakes from masa, a paste made of corn flour that is filled with refried beans, then baked on a flat griddle or comal. Topped off with cheese and salsa, and sometimes meat, they are yummy.

I have no idea where I can find them here in Florida, so true to my fashion, I tried making my own. I am not so adept with tortilla making, so my attempt was not so beautiful, but was tasty!
Here’s how I did it. First, put 2 cups of masa harina, dry corn flour, in a bowl and add about a teaspoon of baking soda and a half-teaspoon of salt. Blend well.

dry-masa

Add about one and a half cups of warm water.

add-water

I say about because the actual amount needed is subject to the age of the masa, the humidity and maybe some other factors. Start with one and a quarter cups of water and add water about one tablespoon at a time until you achieve a workable dough like this:

knead

It is ready when you can make a visible thumbprint:

Thumbprint

Shape about one eighth of the dough into a log.

dough-log

Now the next step was too messy for me to photograph because between the masa, and the beans and trying to shape the huarache, there was no way I would pick up my camera. But here’s what I did. Take the log and make a small lengthwise channel in the middle. Put about a tablespoon of mashed pinto beans in the channel and fold the masa around it, enclosing the beans. Flatten the masa into an oval pancake about 1/4 of an inch thick. Now, if you are adept, the beans will be hidden within the masa. Mine, not so much. Place the huarache on a griddle or comal:

bake
Pretend that you don’t notice the beans

Bake until toasted and there are some brown spots. The huarache should be baked through. Some people fry theirs in oil, but not me.

toasty

When all of the huaraches are baked add toppings of your choosing. We used additional beans, homemade chorizo,  cheese, and salsa de arbol 

served

They may not have been the prettiest huaraches, but they were a delicious and rare treat!

up-close

So now I ask again: Would you eat a huarache?

2 thoughts on “Would You Eat A Huarache?

    Nicole D said:
    June 28, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    I loveee Huranchas. Well, I have never had an authentic one from Mexico, but the Mexican restaurant’s in New Jersey do a pretty good job. This recipe looks fantastic, I will have to try it!! (no beans though, unfortunately I have trouble digesting them :()

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      June 28, 2015 at 6:29 pm

      Thanks for reading! Glad that you can get them near home. Feel free to skip the beans, but then what you have is called a chalupa (a little boat) or if shaped round and thick, gordita (a.k.a. little fat one). They are all yummy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

