Don’t Be A Hater

Posted on Updated on

Some very nice people hate Brussels sprouts. Mr. M and I are not among them. I have a way of cooking them that makes them appeal to almost everyone. My secret? Oven roasting them. We love all types of vegetables that are oven roasted. I roast carrots, onions, potatoes, asparagus, beets, eggplant, cabbage slices, and Brussels sprouts just to name some of them. Here is how I do it:

Trim the Brussels sprouts to remove any hard stems and yukky leaves. Cut large sprouts in half, small ones do well whole. Save any leaves that fall off if they are in good shape. Wash the sprouts and drain well.

Sprouts
Sprouts

Preheat the oven to 400° F. Melt about 2 tablespoons each coconut oil and butter (any fat or oil will do) in a pan that can go from stovetop to oven. Add the drained sprouts and saute until they begin to brown and are well coated with the oils. I like to add some spices. I am a throw it in cook so the measurements are kind of sketchy here. I suggest you just use your best judgement and favorite spices. I used about 2 teaspoons of smoked paprika, 2 teaspoons each onion powder and garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper. (I use sea salt).Toss to coat the sprouts well.

Sprout-saute
Oven ready

Put the pan into the hot oven and roast for about 15-20 minutes. Root vegetables, like carrots, beets and potatoes, will take considerably longer, maybe 35 to 45 minutes. By the way, I cut root veggies into about 1″ square pieces. You can stir the pieces one or twice if you remember.

sprouts-done
Ready to serve.

When they are brown and crispy on the outside yet tender inside they are ready. Oven roasting really mellows and sweetens the flavor of the vegetables. The spices lend a savory touch.

sprout-dinner
Mmmmm!

Roasted vegetables take a little planning and time but they are a delicious addition to any dinner! I hope you will try it.

Leave a Reply

