I Have Rediscovered Photoshop!

Posted on

I had a terrible accident and broke my arm so badly that I needed five surgeries to fix it. It caused me to have to change my career so I went back to college in my fifties. My son loves Information Technology and encouraged me to look into something to do with computers, but the technology part of it overwhelmed me. Since I am what I call a closet artist, I was looking for something that would allow me to do art and still eat. Graphic design was my answer. So off to college I went.

I had never even been in a room with a MAC computer and, at that time, all of Apples’s design programs, like Photoshop and Illustrator were MAC programs only. Undaunted, I enrolled in not one, not two, but four computer design classes. I was so unfamiliar with what I was starting that when a counselor advised me to include a typography class, I did, but I was thinking: What do maps (cartography) have to do with Graphic design? At the end of my first semester the department chairman, who was also my typography teacher, and the class voted me the “most improved student”.

By my last year in Graphic Design (3 Universities later- have I ever mentioned how many times I have moved?), I was the “lab rat” in the University’s Design lab. I was the lab assistant that the helped students learn Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator.

After graduation, we still moved around a lot and I lost my student copies of Photoshop and Illustrator, my MAC computer aged out and my budget could only afford PCs. No more Photoshop for me. Then Adobe Photoshop went to a subscription service. As a retiree now, I am primarily interested in working with my photos and not all of the bells and whistles that Photoshop offers now.  THEN I discovered Photoshop Elements! Just the program I wanted and I can use it on my laptop! Someday maybe I will afford a new Apple computer but for now I am happy with my new program.

So if I disappear you will know that Photoshop Elements ate me!

Here’s one of my first experiments in a long, long time:

My great-grandson as Merlin:

Carson2

One thought on “I Have Rediscovered Photoshop!

    A Little Trip « Itsjusttoni's Blog said:
    August 20, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    […] that is my great grandson aka Merlin in the bottom of the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

