How to Make Your Own Moroccan Tea

Posted on Updated on

While we were in Morocco, I drank their delicious, traditional tea. Since I grow a few types of mint I thought I would try to make my own at home. I, of course, did the necessary internet investigation and found a few websites with the basic information about preparation.

I am so happy to discover that the preferred mint in Morocco is actually one of my favorites: spearmint. I am not too crazy about peppermint, I like my chocolate mint okay, but I much prefer spearmint.

Being the frugal creature that I am, I don’t have the actual gunpowder green tea, but I do have green tea. And I don’t have the exact tea pot, called a berrad

Berrad
Berrad

 

but I do have this:

My-teapot
My teapot

I don’t have beautiful Moroccan tea glasses (But I am open to receiving some as gifts…),

moroccan-tea-glasses

but I do have these:

Favorite glass
Favorite glass

 

So I am game to try. So here is my attempt at Moroccan tea. In Morocco, tea has a ceremony as they do in Japan. Moroccan tea is usually made with gunpowder green tea. I used a combination of green and white tea and the results were pretty much the same and a lot less expensive.  I also used my own spearmint from my garden

Freshest mint possible
Freshest mint possible

And I brewed it in my little pot:

Brewing tea
Brewing tea

The recipe is fairly easy and is regularly served on a daily basis in Morocco. Here is the easy-peasy recipe:

Moroccan Mint Tea

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 5 minutes
Total Time: 10 minutes
Ingredients:
1 tablespoon Green Tea leaves (or white tea)
1 large handful fresh spearmint leaves, washed
1 liter (about 4 cups) boiling water
1 1/2 TBS sugar plus Splenda to taste ~or~
1/2 cup sugar
Preparation:
Put about 1/2 liter (about 2 cups) of water
in a small tea pot with about 1 Tablespoon of green or white tea leaves (2 tea bags).
Bring to a boil. Remove 2 cups of the tea and save. Swirl the pot with about 1/2 cup of water to wash and rinse out the tea leaves, and pour out the water.

Add the mint leaves and the sugar, and fill the pot with 1/2 liter (about 2 cups) water and the reserved 2 cups of tea. Bring just to a boil and remove from heat. Cover and leave the tea to steep for ten minutes or longer.

Gently stir the tea, pour about 1 cup into a glass from about 1 foot above the glass, then return the tea to the pot. Do this 2-3 times. Pour the tea from a height into into small tea glasses and serve.

Moroccan Mint Tea
Moroccan Mint Tea

I made it exactly as above and Both Mr. M and I really enjoyed it as a pick-me-up this afternoon. Just between you and me, I will admit that we both added ice because it is hot here in Florida!

Oh, and before I forget to mention it, In Morocco the mint is frequently boiled during preparation. I recommend not boiling any herbal leaf, mint included. Just steeping, that is, adding barely boiling water to the leaves, removing from heat, covering and letting the tisane stand for 5-10 minutes results in a better flavor. Boiling herb leaves can cause a bitter brew. So my recipe is not exactly authentic but the flavor was delicious and hard to discern from the tea I drank in Morocco. The advantage for me is that I can use less sweetener because the tea is less bitter. Try it and see for yourself!

 

5 thoughts on “How to Make Your Own Moroccan Tea

    Nicole D said:
    June 28, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    I am an avid tea drinker, although I have never thought of making my own. I’m glad you found my blog through the food bloggers challenge, you have a ton of great recipes I’d like to try!

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      June 28, 2015 at 6:31 pm

      Thanks for reading! Tea is the easiest thing to make! Try it! Thanks for your kind comments!

      Liked by 1 person

    Julie said:
    June 28, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    Hi Toni! I never have moroccan tea before, but after reading your posts, I definitely will give it a try to make moroccan tea! 😀 Thanks for sharing this recipe!

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      June 29, 2015 at 5:05 am

      Thanks for reading! Moroccan tea is sooo tasty! I do hope you will try it!

      Liked by 1 person

        Julie said:
        June 29, 2015 at 7:04 pm

        Your Welcome! I definitely will try to make it! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

