It Seems Counter-intuitive

Posted on Updated on

I have been a seamstress sewist person who sews stuff, for many, many years. In the early Seventies, my kids wore fancy hour glass shaped flannel diapers that I made. Over the years, I have made sundresses, party dresses, Communion clothes, little boy vests, ties, drapes, a Prom dress, all kinds of things.

The One Thing that intimidated me was making a bra. It seemed so complicated. It has special parts.  It requires weird fabrics. Well I am intimidated no more! I am currently working on my third bra. It is kind of complicated, but no more than a strapless Prom dress, or, for that matter an hour glass shaped diaper.

It does require special parts like strap sliders and rings and bra hooks. Fortunately, now those parts are available online, and even in some fabric shops. The fabrics for making bras can be specialty stuff, like something called powernet, or a bra can be made out of an old t-shirt (my second one was).

It is rewarding to accept the challenge of learning something new. Bra-making is my latest challenge. I read a lot of blogs about making lingerie, I watched videos online, I read a book or two, I bought a bra-making online class. Then I tackled bra-making.

It is a challenge! Hence the title of this post. A lot of bra sewing techniques are counter-intuitive. An example is putting on this part called channeling, it is for the underwire beneath the bra cups.

Channeling-may-come-like-this
Channeling may look like this when you buy it
Steam-pressed
Shaping with a steam iron can do this

 

It seems that one would just match curve to curve. Not so! First, the channeling is sewn to the right side (outside) of the bra cup and it is sewn on by placing the curve of the bra cup and the curve of the channeling in opposite directions.

What happens is that when the channeling is completed, it will flip into the bra cup, making the correct shape! Who would guess! Not me!

Here’s a photo of my first attempt:

Oh-no!
The usual sewing methods make this seem right, but it is all wrong!

 

And the correct way

Attach-channel

And what happens when it flips

Done-right
Before

 

Flipped
After

This is what it looks like when it is ready for topstitching

ready-to-topstitch

 

As you can see, this is a pretty complicated and challenging process. As I progress on this project, I will post an update. Each attempt I make at bra construction gets a little better (and easier). It is fun to know that I can make beautiful and useful lingerie for myself at a fraction of the cost of ready to wear. Seems to me that this is a good skill to have. Have you tried to develop a new skill?

 

2 thoughts on “It Seems Counter-intuitive

    Cristina said:
    May 15, 2015 at 4:51 pm

    i want to see pictures of the chicken one!

    Like

    itsjusttoni responded:
    May 15, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    Hahahahaha!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

