Pimp My Cart

Posted on Updated on

We live approximately a mile from our recreation center (read POOL!). A walkable distance unless it is in the 90’s and humid! It is just too short of a distance to use the car, so we acquired a very used golf cart from a former neighbor who was relocating to live with his son. It runs well and has decent batteries and tires, but the upholstery looks like this:

EEEWWWW!!
EEEWWWW!!

I have tried to clean it with a lot of different things with no success. So I decided that if I couldn’t fix it, I would just hide it. Now, a real industrious person would reupholster the seats and backs with new vinyl, but I decided that I want to be able to remove the disguise to launder it occasionally. So I bought some indoor-outdoor fabric and set about making some slip covers to pimp my cart.

Along the way I made some discoveries:

It is REALLY hot in Florida when working outside in the summer. It can inspire some colorful language!

There is no pattern available to make the seat and backrest covers. I had to make them up!

After struggling to design the seat cover, I discovered that the seat unhooks at the hinge! (After I designed the entire cover!)

Well, next time it will be waaaay easier!

Here is my cart all finished:

New seat covers!
New seat covers!

Very Floridian, don’t you think?

Another shot:

Seat detail
Seat detail

And the underside of the seat, or why it doesn’t slip slide away:

A peek underneath
A peek underneath

See that kind of rusty hinge on the far left (next to the yellow sticker)? It and its mate on the right unhook to come apart- a great discovery during my final fitting!

The fabric is very sturdy. I think it will be quite a while before I make a replacement. I am happy with it as a first attempt. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Pimp My Cart

    Linda Bye said:
    August 3, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Toni
    It looks pretty and colorful. Hope it last a long time. hope your both well and doing good.

    Like

      itsjusttoni said:
      August 4, 2014 at 5:45 am

      Thanks, Linda! We are fine and and hope you are too!

      Like

    Cristina said:
    August 4, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    Awesome job. Doesn’t it just figure that you find easier access when you’re almost done! Miss you like crazy!

    Like

    itsjusttoni said:
    August 6, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    Hahaha! Always! Miss you so much!

    Like

Leave a comment