Turkey Special

Posted on Updated on

Sometimes Mr. M is allowed to go to the grocery by himself, usually to buy his ice cream fix. A few days ago he came home with two turkey breasts that were on special. Now we love turkey, but two whole turkey breasts for two people? Not to mention that the freezer is full in anticipation of having our teenager grandson staying for the summer. Oh, and did I mention that the Florida weather is hovering around 90 degrees?

Mr. Giant Crockpot to my rescue! One day, I cooked the first turkey breast with traditional seasonings to make a delicious dinner. I had to split the breast in half to fit it into the slow cooker but I made it fit! I was delicious served with homegrown green beans, mashed potatoes, gravy and homemade cranberry sauce.

How to follow that up later in the week with the second turkey breast? I decided to go Caribbean, by rubbing the turkey skin with a spicy mix and cooking it whole in the giant crockpot (it actually fit, barely). Here is what I used for the rub:

2 Tbs  ground dried ancho chile

½ tsp ground cayenne chile

½ tsp ground dried onion powder

1 tsp ground dried garlic powder (not garlic salt)

¼ tsp ground cumin

½ tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp dried Mexican oregano (or Mediterranean oregano)

½ tsp ground black pepper

This is a pretty spicy rub so feel free to adjust any of the ingredients. Just don’t leave out the cinnamon because it adds a lot. I actually used about twice this amount for the turkey breast. I am one of those eyeball cooks, so this is my best estimate of what I actually used.

I just rubbed it all over the turkey breast, skin side and underneath.

The only addition to the pot was about 1 tablespoon of hickory smoke flavoring. No additional liquid, because the turkey will make its own.

Here are some photos of the results:

 

Right out of the slow cooker
Right out of the slow cooker
Juicy, spicy slices!
Juicy, spicy slices!

 

We enjoyed this with farro and a simple romaine and tomato salad. Yummy!

Leftovers, you ask? Oh yes! Plenty! Today I used all of the little scrappy pieces to make chicken salad sandwiches. The skin and bones are in the giant crockpot with some vegetable scraps to make stock. Tomorrow, I will use some of that stock to pressure can the rest of the turkey breast in pint jars for some meals later. Since it looks like the canner won’t be full, I will use the rest of the space to can some dried beans also. Very economical!

Have you ever tried cooking a turkey breast in your slow cooker?

What’s for dinner tonight? Not turkey! Hamburgers! Inspired by our homegrown tomatoes.

4 thoughts on “Turkey Special

    Jenn - Chivalrous Cooking said:
    June 7, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    never tried it in a slow cooker! thanks!

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      June 7, 2014 at 8:19 pm

      Slow cooking is sooo easy when it is HOT! Or when I am busy. Thanks for visiting my blog!

      Like

    Cristina said:
    August 4, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    sounds great! I will have to look out for some so I can try this

    Like

    itsjusttoni responded:
    August 6, 2014 at 8:26 pm

    Do it! It was delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

