1985 Called…

Posted on Updated on

And demanded my stove back. Yes, that was the actual Manufacturer’s date on the stove in our home. The burners had two temperatures HIGH and OFF. The oven had one temperature: Burned. I looked online for repair parts and discovered that unless I wanted to pay a LOT of money for specialty repair parts, I was out of luck. And yet, I had managed to figure out a way to use my canner on it and to cook on it after a fashion (with a lot of attention). Here’s a photo:

021

Last week Mr. M discovered a note in our community laundry room  advertising a stove. We investigated and found a neighbor about a mile away selling his one year old smooth top stove. He had recently moved into a new home and had an extra stove. The price was very reasonable so we bought it and brought it home in the back of our Hyundai Santa Fe.

Prior to bringing it home we moved the old stove out and donated it. When we moved it we discovered why we were having so much trouble with our floor sliding apart. It is a constant problem. The floor is obviously a newer addition but it just wouldn’t stay put. Here is why:

surprise!

I have no idea why the previous owner cut the flooring like this. I don’t want to buy additional flooring to fix this, so I came up with a fix. First I used some shims for the smaller gap and to “frame” the outlet box:

surprise!

Then I found a couple of pieces of trim the previous owners left behind and cut them to fit with my pruners:

Ready

Taaadaaa! No more sliding floor!

We put in the new stove and I cooked our first meal on it:

OOooooOOO, New!
OOooooOOO, New!

Isn’t it beautiful? And I used my pressure cooker to prepare our corned beef dinner. It was fantastic. I could bring the pot to pressure and turn the heat down and the burner would go on and off to maintain the right temperature. Wonderful!

There is just one small problem: (Isn’t there always??)

UHH OHH!
UHH OHH!

Nothing I can’t live with!

2 thoughts on “1985 Called…

    Cristina said:
    March 17, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    Awesome new stove! You are so handy. I am jealous of your corned beef Saint Paddy’s dinner 🙂 can’t wait to see you. I’m so glad you’re blogging!

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      March 17, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      Thanks so much! Can’t wait to see you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

