Simple Soup

Posted on Updated on

Creamy potato soup
Creamy potato soup

Yahoo! A new camera shoots clear! As I said in my earlier post, my beloved camera recently went to Camera Heaven, so I have been out of blog posting for a while. Finally, I have a new camera! Not blogging hasn’t kept me from cooking though.

After our trip to Fort Worth to celebrate Christmas with our two daughters and their families, Mr M and I came home a bit fatter and feeling the after effects of rich food and driving long distances. I have been longing for simpler meals. In addition, my little vegetable garden has been happily continuing to grow in our absence; with no care or water, mind you!

Yesterday, I found this lovely leek that I planted as a tiny seedling. Not only was there the big one, it had 2 babies that I replanted for the next harvest.

Fresh from the garden!

In addition I had some yellow potatoes, harvested earlier, that had been waiting for our return. Potatoes and a big leek, hmmmm… I also had just finished making ham stock from a big bone from some ham I found on sale here (local smoked pork). What could I make? Potato soup of course!

I sliced the leek, some onion from the garden, and sauteed them in some local butter:

Delicious local butter

This dairy is very local! The distributor is just a few blocks from my house and the cows live just beyond the north edge of our little town, maybe 8 kilometers from here. I find it very amusing that despite the company name, the cows are black and white Holsteins!

Holstein Cow
Jersey Cow

But I digress, so here is how I made the soup:

I used about 2 tablespoons of the butter to saute the aromatics, and about 1 cup of sliced carrots from the garden. I added about 16 cups of the strained ham stock, and 8 cups of peeled, diced potatoes. To make the stock, I simmered the ham bone with a couple of carrots, half of a large onion, a bay leaf, a few black peppercorns and about a teaspoon of dried,  homegrown marjoram.

I brought everything to a boil and lowered the heat to a simmer until the potatoes and carrots were tender. I used my handy new immersion blender (thank you  Mr M for the lovely Christmas gift!), to puree the soup, leaving some  tiny bits for texture. I added maybe a cup of diced ham. With a little Jack cheese, this soup is a little bit of Heaven!

4 thoughts on “Simple Soup

    Margo said:
    January 15, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Looks great! I just ordered an immersion blender for myself this week because I didn’t get one for Christmas 🙂 I’m very excited to use it – we love smooth soups.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      January 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm

      Thanks for reading, Margo! I am sure you will love your immersion blender as much as I do mine!

      Like

    cristina said:
    January 16, 2012 at 5:30 am

    iT looks yummy! I’m impressed by the clarity of the pictures

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      January 16, 2012 at 10:31 am

      It was yummy! I am amazed and happy with the new camera… and it was cheap too! LOL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

