This Big Boy Stays Home

Posted on Updated on

My Mocklaussen Pickles

My homemade pickles are always greeted with positive remarks when I offer them to friends or family. I consider this to be a great compliment because I am always fearful that they will turn out limp or slippery or worse. But they all seem to have turned out well. (Whew!)

This big old jar of pickles won’t be going anywhere; it is for me. Well, I will share them with Mr.M, but he is not a big fan of pickles. Ha! More for me!

This particular jar of pickles has not been preserved. I simply fermented it for a few days on my counter then popped it into my refrigerator. Let me tell you, these pickles are yummy and extra crisp!! And the best part is that they couldn’t be easier to make.

Here’s the process:

My Mocklaussen Pickles

enough small to medium cucumbers to pack tightly into the intended jar (mine is a recycled gallon pickle jar-I told you I like pickles!). I clipped a miniscule part off of the blossom end of each cucumber because it can have enzymes that will soften the pickles.

A 50% brine solution to cover the cucumbers.That is equal amounts of commercial white or cider vinegar (I used cider-hence the amberish color) and purified water. I add a quarter cup of canning salt to each 8 cups of this mixture. This is a basic pickling  brine.  You can use more salt but I like a little less salt. I didn’t heat this (you know what a radical I am!); I just dissolved the salt in the in the vinegar and water solution and poured it over the cucumbers.

I add a lot of sliced fresh garlic, as you can see.

I used mustard seed, dill seed, whole black peppercorns, and dried hot chile flakes. I added these directly to the jar. I used about one tablespoon of each for the gallon jar. If you use a smaller jar you can adjust these accordingly.

Now, I am sure you have noticed the leaves in the top and bottom of the jar. They are grape leaves. I have heard that these or cherry  leaves have tannin in them and help the pickles stay crisp.

That’s it! Simple! Have I tried these yet? You bet! They are crunchy and just pickley enough! (Pickley? Is that a word?)

2 thoughts on “This Big Boy Stays Home

    cristina said:
    September 12, 2011 at 4:56 am

    I will have to try this with my kids. you make it sound so simple and you know what fiends they are are for pickles!

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      September 12, 2011 at 9:48 pm

      Yes they are! Not that Mom and Grandma aren’t!! Maybe we have some
      kind of pickle gene. Pickles are the easiest to make! Next time I visit I will show you guys how to do it. Just save of up a few jars…

      Like

Leave a Reply

