The Zen of Laundry

Posted on Updated on

 

on the line
Looks okay to me

When I was growing up, it was the norm for families to have a laundry line in their yard. Some families even had a specific laundry, or wash, day. We didn’t that I know of, it seemed with my family we always had laundry. When I was very little I had the job of folding the wash and taking it to the appropriate room. When I could finally reach the clothesline, laundry from beginning to end was one of my jobs.

Not that I minded it. We had an electric washer, thank goodness. And not one of those wringer types that could tear your arm off either! It lived in our garage and just outside the door was the laundry line.  The lines were strung in parallel rows between two T-shaped metal poles.

I loved to hang laundry. It was one of the few times when I could escape from my family and not be studying. (I worked hard for my grades) It was peaceful and I had a sense of simple accomplishment when I finished hanging it out. I could hang the clothes in an order that appealed to me. Have I ever mentioned in my blog how compulsive I am about sorting stuff? I love organization! So much so, that my kids used to think I was magic because I could direct them to the exact place where something like the scissors or tape was stored. As recently as this summer my grandson commented about how I sort the silverware when I put in the dish drainer. But I digress…

Since our retirement here to Baja, we have worked to reduce our expenses, as well as our carbon footprint. We are lucky to have a washer and dryer here in our home, BUT I have been lusting after a clothesline for a long time. It hasn’t happened, so I am trying a different tactic.

We have a series of posts that we were using to support some grapevines that we are no longer growing. I decided to put the unused posts to support some clothesline rope to make a sort of makeshift clothesline. It seems to work pretty well and can hold a single large load of laundry.  Despite the fact that it is right in front of my house, I think it still looks okay.

Today when I hung out my first load of laundry, I was immediately transported back to my teen years. I felt that same peace and sense of tranquility I enjoyed then. When I gathered the dry clothes in, I really enjoyed the fragrance of line dried laundry again!

Do you line dry your laundry? Is it a good or bad experience for you?

2 thoughts on “The Zen of Laundry

    cristina said:
    September 12, 2011 at 5:01 am

    I remember the retractrable line you used to have for drying laundry. Little did I know what a luxery item it was to you 🙂

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      September 12, 2011 at 10:01 pm

      I am scheming to get a better laundry setup; one of these days…

      Like

Leave a Reply

