Do You Chutney?

Posted on Updated on

Since we were on our trip to Europe during the Spring planting time here, I have little in the vegetable garden aside from some exuberant tomatoes and some collards that defy death, even with little water. Oh yeah, and my baby sweet potato plants that I started from slips grown from a potato while we were gone. I am now getting ready to plant for our late summer and fall season.

We do have some fruit trees that are at the end of their season, producing small amounts of fruits for the kitchen, such as half a dozen Santa Rosa plums, half a dozen golden plums, and a few nectarines. We have plenty of jams already, so what to do? Hmmmm… how about chutney? What is it? What do I do with it after I make it? Well, worth a try! The results? Delicious!!

Here is the photo:

It is rich, fruity, spicy and very interesting. The pieces of fruit are readily identifiable, yet each flavor adds to the complex nature of the mixture. I must have read over a dozen different recipes. I took the idea and went with it. Here is my recipe.

Save the Fruit Chutney

12 cups prepared fruit*

1 cup golden raisins

½ cup candied ginger cut into ¼ inch pieces

½ cup each diced red and green sweet peppers

1 cup diced onion

1 minced jalapeno chile

1 entire head of garlic, chopped

1 lemon

1 lime

4 cups cider vinegar

2 tsp. canning salt

4 cups dark brown sugar

½ tsp ground cloves

½ tsp ground coriander

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp each yellow and black mustard seeds

1 Tbs dried mulatto or red chile flakes (I used the mulatto)

¼ tsp cayenne pepper

*I used the following: most of a package of overly sugared dried pears, cubed, that I covered with hot water and soaked overnight with the raisins. To this I added diced Santa Rosa and golden plums, nectarines and apples. I removed the peels from the lemon and lime with a potato peeler and minced it. I seeded and sectioned them and all to the fresh fruit.

Place reconstituted, dried fruit in a very large saucepan with the vinegar, sugar, peppers, onions, garlic, salt and spices. Cook until the dried fruits start to become tender. Add the fresh fruits and cook down until as thick as you like.

I put this into 12 half-pint jars and sealed them in a BWB (that’s a Boiling Water Bath, to non-canners), for 10 minutes. Lucky for me there was half a jar left over to try it out. Sweet, tangy, spicy, chunky… definitely not a jam.

Now, you ask: what do I do with 12 jars of this stuff? I can imagine it on chicken, pork, toasted cheese sandwiches, stirred into rice, with any cheese and crackers, with Indian food, as a salad dressing ingredient… in other words: YUM!!

2 thoughts on “Do You Chutney?

    cristina said:
    August 24, 2011 at 5:03 am

    Um, I think I’ll pass on this one (unless you sneak it into something). Glad to see you’re keeping up with the posting though 🙂

    Like

    Tito said:
    August 25, 2011 at 6:30 am

    I can see it being really good glazed onto the outside of a pork loin or chicken on the BBQ. Some of your other descriptions though are…. I’m with Cristina here. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

