Leftovers

Posted on Updated on

It seems that anything that hangs around my kitchen too long is in danger of being canned. I’ve even pickled, purslane, a “weed” that grows in my garden. This week, I did something new.

Here in Baja, when you have certain take-out food, frequently the order comes with Mexican limes, limones, and radishes, sometimes grilled green onions or jalapeños. Recently, we enjoyed some carnitas from one of our favorite local restaurants, La Michoican.  Each of us, including the teenage grandson, ate as much as we could, yet there were a lot of leftovers.

I used the leftover meat, chips, onions, cilantro, and even a couple of spoonfuls of rice, to make tortillia soup. Hey, what law says tortillia soup has to be made from chicken? It was great made with pork!

But the radishes? I am the only one here willing to eat them and there were too many for me. Here is what I did with them:

Aren’t they pretty?

Pickled radishes.  Here is how I did these:

I sliced the radishes about 1/16 of an inch thick. I wasn’t too careful about the thickness. I just wanted the slices thin enough to pickle but thick enough to retain their radish personality. I have a mandolin that I don’t use; I prefer my chef’s knife, so the slices are not exact.

I put the slices into a pint canning jar. Over these I poured the following pickling solution:

½ cup white vinegar

1/3 cup sugar

¼ tsp  yellow mustard seed

Pinch of celery seed

A couple of grinds of black pepper

I warmed the vinegar and sugar enough to dissolve the sugar, poured it over the radish slices, added the spices, put on the lid, shook the jar and refrigerated it.

I think I will give it a week or two before trying it. If I can wait that long…

4 thoughts on “Leftovers

    Cristina said:
    August 10, 2011 at 4:27 am

    Rick would be in heaven! I need to try my hand at canning.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      August 10, 2011 at 11:42 am

      Canning is really fun and pickling is the easiest. Notice that these weren’t even heated? They are a type of “refrigerator pickles”! You can doooo iiiittt!

      Like

    lostroguedragon said:
    August 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    I am curious about the pickled purslane. We have tons of it in our garden. I am new to canning without my Mom. She canned everything as I was growing up and I helped, but I have never done it on my own. I will find out this year if I am any good at it 🙂 I hope to carry on her tradition. She took after her grandma Laura who canned and pickled everything.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      August 10, 2011 at 6:15 pm

      Thanks for reading! Purslane is one of my favorite weeds. Pickled Purslane is really easy! I treat it the same way as the radishes except I use a 50-50 dilution of vinegar and water, no sugar, and I add sliced onions, garlic cloves and any hot peppers I have in the kitchen. I also increase the dried spices a little bit: I use dill, mustard seed, celery seed, and coriander seed and canning salt. I do heat the liquid and spices to boiling, pour it over the vegetables, cool it, then refrigerate it. I use the stems only of the purslane so they come out sort of like dilly beans. Yummy!!

      Best of luck with your canning! Start with refrigerator pickles and get The Ball Blue Book for reference and you will be on your way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

