Once again, you ask: where have you been?

Posted on Updated on

I have been away for an extended period. Here are some photos to give you a clue:

Yes, it’s true! I have been on a lengthy trip through the United Kingdom and northern Europe.  It has been a trip of a lifetime; for our Fortieth Anniversary. Yup, that’s forty years of marriage. We took a cruise that actually started in Fort Lauderdale where our son and his family live (we spent about a week visiting them). We saw these countries: Ireland, England, France, Belgium, Germany, Netherlands, Estonia, Russia, Denmark, Finland, and Sweden.

Since I am a California girl, I am always overwhelmed to see buildings that are so old. I realize that there are old constructions in California. I used to be a docent at the oldest standing adobe in the state. Unfortunately, even that was really new by comparison.  In Europe, instead of hundreds of years, architecture can be measured by centuries- amazing!

In case, you are wondering, here is the key to these photos, in order from the top:

Russian dolls representing the continuity of life

Part of the amazing fountains at Petrehof, St. Petersburg, Russia

Trinity Hall, Dublin, Ireland (where the Book of Kells is kept)

Door detail in Helsinki, Finland

Basilica in Cherbourg, France

And, of course, THE Little Mermaid, Denmark

4 thoughts on “Once again, you ask: where have you been?

    Cristina said:
    July 28, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Amazing! I know we missed you. Keep posting photos of you trip; these are wonderful and I’m sure they barely touch the surface of what you took.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      July 29, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Thanks Dear! You are so right, I have loads of pics! Thanks for reading!

      Like

    Tito said:
    July 29, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Beautiful… I’ve seen two and a half of those subjects. The Little Mermaid, and the Finnish doors. The half would be the nesting dolls, but that’s only because I saw yours 🙂 I’d love to go and see the rest of what you saw. We need more pictures!! Happy anniversary!

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      July 29, 2011 at 12:19 pm

      Thanks for reading! Thanks for the anniversary wish! It was a wonderful and interesting trip. As a “child of the Cold War” I never dreamed I would see Russia, Estonia (used to be part of the Soviet Union), or Germany. Heck, I never dreamed of seeing Europe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

