Where Has She Been?

Posted on Updated on

Another irisOkay, I admit it: I have been missing in inaction! In December, Mr. M and I went to visit our daughters in Texas and Louisiana. Their internet connections were not as reliable as is ours here in Mexico (surprise!). So, between that and my desire to have a great time visiting with the family during the Holidays, there was little incentive to post.

Okay, what about since then? On January fifth, a couple of days after our return home, I underwent the replacement of my left knee. Did you know that the knee is the largest joint in the human body? Not to mention that it involves four bones, including the kneecap?  Rehabilitation from this surgery is painful and time consuming. Especially when the rehabilitation involves crossing an international border every time one visits the Physical Therapist.  Add to that the fact that I am allergic to a LOT of prescriptions medications, like antibiotics and pain killers and recovery is a bit slow.

It has taken me quite a while to get to the point where I can sit at the desk and type. I know. I know: laptop. I am thinking about replacing my old one that died a couple of years ago but I can’t seem to afford one as yet. It is on the list of Things I Would Buy If I Won The Lottery.

I am finally able to stroll around the garden without a walker (which I came home with) or a cane (kind of classy but annoying). So camera in hand, I went out to photograph what is going on in the garden at this time of year. Let me tell you first though, how great it is to FINALLY be able to walk without the constant pain with every step that I had in my knees. I am the Bionic Grandma now, two knee replacements (one was three years ago) and metal plates in one arm. It is very interesting to go through the airport!

As promised here are several photos from the garden:

My super dwarf apple tree in bloom

This little apple tree is always in bloom or producing fruit. It requires less than 100 hours of chill time and sets fruit about three times a year. And, oh yes, it is only about three feet tall! I just love it!

Some of my beautiful cabbages:

 

A green Cabbage
A red cabbage

This is a cauliflower that is aptly named “Cheddar”. It is still orangish-yellow after cooking and is delicious!!

Peek a boo!

Banana trees blossom according to their own time schedules. The red bananas on the left are a complete surprise! I bought the tiny tree for its interesting red and green variegated foliage. When we were thinning the clump we were astounded to find the bloom stalk. The flower stalk to the right is a favorite with our resident humming birds.

These red bananas were a surprise
This banana blossom is a complete surprise
A Natural Humming Bird feeder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the time when our citrus trees are in transition. The fruit is ripe and the trees are putting on new growth and blossoms. If you have never been near a citrus tree in bloom you have really missed out on one of the pleasures of life. Each type of tree has its own unique sweet fragrance.  Commercial “orange blossom” fragrance isn’t even within the realm. Not only is the fragrance sweet but it has an underlying  slightly bitter, citrus zing. The sweetest of my citrus blossoms belongs to my Mexican, or if you live in Florida, Key, lime. It is the favorite of the Humming Birds and they are extremely defensive of it!

The beginning of next year’s Meyer lemons
A unique variegated lemon that is pink inside when ripe
This years oranges getting ripe

Random photos of the winter vegetables:

Lettuce have a salad
Peas and Broccoli, please
First time I’ve grown Brussels sprouts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And last but not least some random photos of the flower at this time of the year:

These little daisies are naturalized and come back year after year!
One of many irises
The poinsettia still has lovely flowers. I prefer the Spanish name Noche Buena, or Good Night (a reference to Christmas Eve)
4 thoughts on “Where Has She Been?

    Cristina said:
    March 2, 2011 at 5:52 am

    Soooo jealous of your garden! Glad you about and around better now.

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      March 2, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks, Dear! Come on out and go for a stroll anytime!! I planted some seeds just today!

      Like

    Linda Bye said:
    April 4, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Toni
    Your garden is always so great. Glad to hear your feeling better. Spring has sprung and I’ve also got tomatos, 3 types, basil, cilantro, parsley, chives, and Bell peppers that are finally getting big enough to transplant outside.
    Linda

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      April 4, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Just another day in Paradise — eh?
      Good luck with your vegies! I will have to wait for mine since we will be gone on a trip this spring…

      Like

Leave a Reply

