Canning Plums

Posted on Updated on

Our hacienda has a lot of fruit trees, most of which are fairly young and just starting to bear. Our Santa Rosa plum tree, however, was here before us. I am not sure just how old it is, but it consistently bears a great crop. This year is no exception!

colander of fresh plums

Beautiful aren’t they? The two green globes are ripe pluots. These trees are quite young and only bear two or three fruits each so far. They are so good that we eat them as soon as we pick them!

With my grandson visiting, we decided that this summer he would learn how to can plums. I have never canned fruit before. Jams, jellies, and marmalades, yes, but whole fruit? No! We decided that it would be a fun way to spend an afternoon. It was a grand success!

Here is my junior chef in action:

My grandson, the chef!

Checking the syrup

He is preparing a very light syrup to pour over the plums in the jars in the background. Since this was my first time canning whole fruit, I thought that the fruit would somehow shift and settle lower into the jars. That is why the jars look so full. There is nothing like a learning curve!

The fruit did not settle but the jars sealed well and remain sealed after two months. Here is a picture of our finished product:

Jars of canned plums

Don’t they look like jewels? I can hardly wait to taste them this winter!!

2 thoughts on “Canning Plums

    Linda Bye said:
    August 20, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Hi Toni
    Yes, they do look great. I haven’t attempted canning here yet. Maybe, that will be my next adventure too. lol

    Like

      itsjusttoni responded:
      August 20, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      Thanks, Linda! Canning is really fun, as you can see by my grandson! Just yesterday, I made two different types of Jam: Nectarine with Vanilla Bean and Rum, and Tutti Fruiti… My next post will be about my adventure into pressure canning…. C’mon over and you can can with me (wait, isn’t that a dance?)LOL!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

