Trompetta Squash

Posted on Updated on

In my personal effort to avert the global food crisis, I am growing more and more of the vegetables that I use in my kitchen. One vegetable that always seems to please me is squash. I am a big fan of both summer and winter, or storage squash. Since there is just the two of us now, for the most part, I am trying to grow less of any one type and to expand the variety that I plant.

This year, new addition is Trompetta squash, an interesting vining plant. I chose it because it can be used both as a summer squash or left to ripen for a storage squash.

My vine produced a large squash quickly and all of the rest of the baby squash that were on the vine were drying up, so I cut this squash to try it out:

The one on the bottom is my first Trompetta squash
The one on the bottom is my first Trompetta squash

The yellow one is a yellow zucchini about eight inches long.

I used about a third of the Trompetta to make a summer dish that we enjoy. The slices of squash cooked into an interesting green-gold color and were delicious!

One of our fav summer squash dishes
One of our fav summer squash dishes

I am hoping that cutting the first squash will encourage my vine to set some more!

2 thoughts on “Trompetta Squash

    cristina said:
    August 14, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Great blog and the food looks amazing (to quote my daughter), but what did you do with the rest of the squash 😉

    Like

    itsjusttoni responded:
    August 15, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks! The rest of the squash turned into another dinner like this and the last third I sliced and we ate it raw with some of the leftover ranch dressing from when the kids were here! Yummy!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

